Posted by: China | June 20, 2006

What is so exciting about THAT?

So, can anyone help me out here? I’m a confused dog. I just don’t get it. Why is it so exciting when green things poke out of the ground? I mean, we got TONS of green stuff growing around here. (Well, it’s all grey to me, but I can tell what they mean when they say ‘green.’)

I mean, two Sundays ago Mom started digging in that big dirt hole again – and wouldn’t let me help! Then, she started pouring water into that hole. I got in the hole and was going to try to help dig it up again, but she got mad and even squirted me with the water!

Okay, so it was only a few drops of water, but it was mean! Now, I don’t go anywhere near that hole unless the green snake water monster is in his hole in the ground. (They call it the ‘basement.’)

This past Sunday Mom got all excited because green things started poking out of the dirt hole. If I weren’t such a nice dog, I would’ve said, “Duh! Green things grow in the big dirt holes. That’s why our yard is covered in grass.” But I’m a nice dog, so I just said, “…..” (I’m not much of a barker)

But, apparently, this is different. So, can you tell me why this is so much better than regular ol’ grass?

Mom says it’s a baby pumpkin (aka ‘evil gourd’) but I know better. Pumpkins are round and make ugly faces at you. This is a just a couple of leaves sticking out of the ground. Mom says there are 5 baby pumpkins poking out, but all I saw were those leaves.

Now, this is the other dirt hole I can’t dig it. You’ll note that there’s also a bunch of leaves poking out. Mom says these are baby flowers. I’m beginning to worry about her and all this ‘baby’ business.

And these two pictures are for the rabbits (fuzzies) in the audience: Just look at all that good stuff. You probably can’t see it very well in the picture, but this field is just FULL of clover.

I wonder why we don’t have any wild bunnies hopping around? You think maybe I scare them away?

I’ll keep a look-out for any bunnies. Until next time!
-Woof! (China)

Responses

  1. China, since you’re a dog with a cat, Can you fwd this to every dog you know who also likes cats? Malcolm is a kind bean who saved a little kitten from a most certain and painful death by being hit by a car and he’s askin’ for some help in donating money for little kitten’s hip surgery… You can read about it on his blog:
    http://www.droppedin.com/
    The more of us that know, the more money he can get! The vet bill is $1000!! He also has a poll going for what to name the little girl kitty. Thanks! Beau (the cat)

  2. Dirt holes all around and we can’t dig; I know the feeling!

    About the bunnies, you can chase them, it’s really fun. I haven’t caught one yet, but I’ve heard they taste good on the barby. A bit gamey, but that’s what we love!

    Cal

  3. Miss hearing from you two! I’m trying to get email addresses of all the cat bloggers for general emails and if there’s a problem like DaisyMae, we would have a way of contacting you. If you don’t mind, please send me an email address. I will not give it out without for ANY reason without your permission first.


Categories

